Close

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No

Novice rebuilder. 54k miles N54 crazy to rebuild now?

Hi all,
    First disclaimer, I'm a very novice engine rebuilder having build a couple of small Honda K20s and a M54 a few years back. To my knowledge all 3 engines are still running well with their current owners Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge.

I've found myself with a complete 135i with 110k on it and picked up a bargain N54 motor + turbos for a price I couldn't resist (it seems healthy and compression is good).

Would I be crazy at this point to rebuild the 54k motor with so 'few' miles with a view to swapping it into my 135i? I would want to do the rebuild myself (sending parts out for machining to an experienced local shop)?

I think it might be a nice project and having a 0 miles fresh motor ready to go for when the 110k motor starts to misbehave seems like a useful thing?

Thoughts.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    I would do a leakdown test and if all goes well leave it alone. I just don't think the risk is worth the reward. Your 110k motor "should" last a while. You never know you may crash the car or decide to sell it. Before putting it in I would do gaskets/seals.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blaster3500 Click here to enlarge
    I would do a leakdown test and if all goes well leave it alone. I just don't think the risk is worth the reward. Your 110k motor "should" last a while. You never know you may crash the car or decide to sell it. Before putting it in I would do gaskets/seals.
    Thank you. Makes sense, I need to fully assess the condition of the 54k motor, and replacing the head gasket and engine seals (main seals , gasket pans and the like) makes good sense too.

If I do upgraded internals then this would change the decision presumably?

Will do the leakdown test asap.