Close

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    Angry Cranks, No Start, No DME Communication - Will strangle bmw engineer(s) for solution

    Pre-LCI/Early 07 335i Auto ZF Trans - Slightly NOT stock


    • new built motor installed after car sat for 1 year no battery
    • no start
    • no dme communication
    • no fuel injecting into engine
    • fuel pump constantly priming/circulating gas when ignition is on
    • jb4 completely removed
    • new fuel pump and fuel pressure regulator
    • checked all glovebox & DME box fuses multiple times
    • swapped DME for backup 2nd cloned DME
    • checked/bypassed blue dme relay and 30g fuse box relay
    • checked all engine sensors are installed and proper plugs connected to engine
    • checked main ground strap & power wire to/from starter & alternator
    • battery voltage ~13 when off of charger but charger is left on charger during all work
    • disconnected IBS sensors to battery


    Mods

    • Engine - Forged Rods/Pistons/Ported Heads
    • Hybrid Stage 2+ Turbos
    • Index 12 Injectors
    • NEW Stage 2+ Fuel Pump
    • Charge Pipe w/Tial BOV
    • Big Aftermarket Intercooler
    • Relocated Inlet/Outles
    • Catless Downpipes
    • Borla Sport Exhaust
    • Catch Can
    • PCV Valve
    • JB4 BEF w/MHD (currently removed)


    Currently working on the car, this is my TLDR version... will add full version later, hoping for some ideas to try asap. Ive had similar issues before with this car but always figure it out eventually. I could strangle some german bmw engineers right about now though.

    Any help is greatly appreciated, I dont give up easy... it WILL start just a matter of time. Click here to enlarge

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    143
    Rep Points
    165.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Check your ground.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    The main ground strap from the bottom of the drivers side vehicle going to the driver side motor mount is on and tight. Is that the ground youre referring to?

    Only thing removed from the vehicle was the engine, DME/harness and front clip for engine removal. The ground strap was actually never removed from the engine mount pedestal but I did check it again.

    Please be specific to which ground and I will check them... thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Ok here we go...

    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    St George, Utah
    Posts
    45
    Rep Points
    69.1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Did you try going down the test plans with ista d?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Took a break from it, about to work on it again...

    That terminal 30g-f code stands out to me... but maybe thats not the issue at all IDK I am doing some digging. A lot of what ISTA shows is jibberish to me as I dont have a lot of experience with it. Let me know what you think... thanks

    Terminal 30g-f:
    Terminal 30g-f is a terminal 30 that is only switched off of faults are detected.
    Terminal 30g-f only exists if a bistable relay is fitted. The relay is not visibly arranged in the distribution box. As
    a rule, the bistable relay is only fitted together with the IBS.
    On vehicles with CCC, M-ASK or independent heating, a relay of this kind is fitted. On some equipment
    variants with TCU, a bistable relay is also fitted.
    On vehicles without terminal 30g-f, the corresponding fuses are supplied with terminal 30g.
    The JBE controls terminal 30g-f via a bistable relay in the distribution box. The bistable relay can be switched
    off or on. As a rule, the bistable relay is always switched on. The bistable relay has two relay coils and it always
    remains in the last state activated (switched on or switched off).
    The following three faults exist in which terminal 30g-f is switched off:
    Up to model year 09/2006:
    As of approx. 60 minutes terminal R off, the DME/DDE starts a closed-circuit current
    measurement using the IBS. When the DME/DDE determines a closed-circuit current fault, this
    wakes up the vehicle and sends a message for cutoff of terminal 30g-f. The JBE receives the
    message and switches the bistable relay off.
    Increased closed-circuit current due a switched-on auxiliary consumer unit is not a closed-circuit
    current fault for the DME/DDE. Nonetheless, terminal 30g-f is switched off even if the starting
    capability limit is reached. The command for cutoff of terminal 30g-f is also issued in this case by
    the DME/DDE.
    1.
    As of terminal R off, the JBE monitors whether the vehicle is able to go into the idle state. The
    vehicle can only enter the idle state when all the control units are ready for this. If not all control
    units have signalled this readiness approx. 30 minutes, the JBE switches terminal 30g-f off. The
    JBE also stores all the control units in the energy history memory that have not signalled
    readiness for the idle state.
    2.
    A few minutes after terminal R off, the vehicle has normally switched into the idle state. As of the
    idle state, the JBE counts how often the vehicle is wakened. The JBE switches terminal 30g-f off
    when a vehicle has been wakened unexpectedly more than 30 time with terminal R

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    143
    Rep Points
    165.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    When you removed the JB4 did you also flash back to stock? Did you have any upgrades incorporated with your JB4, antilag etc etc..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Very good questions...

    I was running JB4 BEF through MHD for E85... and I have 0 upgrades with the JB4, no flex fuel sensor, antilag, 2 step etc. But no I did not flash it back to stock...

    First crank for priming oil and then trying to fire were with JB4 installed the exact same as the day she spun the bearing. At this point though I am all for reinstalling it, seeing if it can pull codes at all (communicate with DME before the DME port) or adjust map setting to 0/get into menu... which are all things I have not tried. If you think I should flash it back to stock I will try. I was either running the PUMP BEF or E85 BEF by JB4 through MHD android w/usb to obd cable. I believe it was pump... I played around with the E85 one but pretty sure I put it back on PUMP.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    143
    Rep Points
    165.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by CptGudentite Click here to enlarge
    Very good questions...

    I was running JB4 BEF through MHD for E85... and I have 0 upgrades with the JB4, no flex fuel sensor, antilag, 2 step etc. But no I did not flash it back to stock...

    First crank for priming oil and then trying to fire were with JB4 installed the exact same as the day she spun the bearing. At this point though I am all for reinstalling it, seeing if it can pull codes at all (communicate with DME before the DME port) or adjust map setting to 0/get into menu... which are all things I have not tried. If you think I should flash it back to stock I will try. I was either running the PUMP BEF or E85 BEF by JB4 through MHD android w/usb to obd cable. I believe it was pump... I played around with the E85 one but pretty sure I put it back on PUMP.
    Reinstall JB4 Or flash back to stock and see what happens

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Deen@streetkingimports Click here to enlarge
    Reinstall JB4 Or flash back to stock and see what happens
    Will try with JB4 again right now. I am pretty sure the older ECU was never back end flashed... and it wont crank with that one either. Ill give it a shot though, one more thing to check off the list. Thx

    small update...

    Verified no spark at all, also reinspected ALL DME wire connectors/pins and all other connectors in the DME box.

    Check ground straps near water pump and driver side motor mount upright. All good...

    Tried to fire again no joy...

    Also noticed even with foot on the brake I cannot change out of PARK... guessing its because of a module issue.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Reinstalled JB4, tried to use steering wheel controls with ignition on. No response... plugged into laptop, tried to connect, failed to connect... double checked com port, re tried... it hangs for it a moment while it tries but fails.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    WE HAVE IGNITION! and im a fool... but I figured it out.

    Damn ground on the strut tower passenger side was hidden between the heat shield and strut tower... under the relocated inlet pipe. Figured it was something stupid and simple right in front of my face but I never saw it.

    I setup INPA, started followed the service plan... every step, checking the circuit line... each connector, fuse, relay... and then finally grounds... soon as I clicked the picture showing that ground it clicked in my head.

    So boys and girls dont be like me... remember those pesky grounds that are hiding from you.


    Thanks to everyone who helped and I hope we all got a good laugh out of this.

    Ill update yall on how the new motors does!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    143
    Rep Points
    165.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by CptGudentite Click here to enlarge
    WE HAVE IGNITION! and im a fool... but I figured it out.

    Damn ground on the strut tower passenger side was hidden between the heat shield and strut tower... under the relocated inlet pipe. Figured it was something stupid and simple right in front of my face but I never saw it.

    I setup INPA, started followed the service plan... every step, checking the circuit line... each connector, fuse, relay... and then finally grounds... soon as I clicked the picture showing that ground it clicked in my head.

    So boys and girls dont be like me... remember those pesky grounds that are hiding from you.


    Thanks to everyone who helped and I hope we all got a good laugh out of this.

    Ill update yall on how the new motors does!
    I told you to check the ground lol, guess I wasn't specific haha

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    144
    Rep Points
    433.4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    RKelly approves. Click here to enlarge

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Deen@streetkingimports Click here to enlarge
    I told you to check the ground lol, guess I wasn't specific haha
    HAHA yeah thats why I asked please be specific... but to be honest even when you first said that I thought "ALL OF THEM YOU FOOL CHECK THEM ALLL!!!!"

    Easy mistakes are the best ones though, and I learned a good amount by making this one.

    Have a way way better understanding of the electrical system in this car. Also got some practice physically tested relays by applying power to the switched circuit and verifying continuity between the other poles etc. Better at reading diagrams than I was before.

    AND YOU CAN BET YOUR ASS NEXT TIME IM GONNA CHECK GROUND (ALLLLLLL OF THEM!)

    One thing that I always think of in these situations and has proven to work well is... go back to the last place you messed with things at... chances are high its in that area and not something new that just went bad in another area randomly for no reason. I just got hung up on some easy $#@!... but all that said I AM SOOOO GLAD IT WASNT CAN BUS RELATED!!!

    Now my issues are just the normal first start power steering leaks, vanos exhaust mechanical code etc.

    Also I went to do a new JB4 BEF and remembered that last time a dealership programmed keys they locked this damn DME. I am getting an RSA Defeat situation where I cant erase the data to flash over it with MHD.

    Soooo right now I am going to focus on getting her buttoned up and do some research on how to get the MSD81 I have working.

    If anyone can shed specifics on how to program this MSD81 to the current CAS module and key for the car that would be awesome. I have ISTA-P and played with it for a while last night before I passed out. Looks like I can do it... just didnt want to try right now.

    I also have the matching CAS module that came with the MSD81... and its all from an 07 335i auto, sedan almost identical to my car... only difference is it had Comfort Access and mine does not. I know theres a way I can just swap the CAS and MSD81 in, then disable Comfort Access and program my key(s) to it.

    Thats probably for another thread though in the coding section, backed up by a lot of reading.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    15.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Deen@streetkingimports Click here to enlarge
    I told you to check the ground lol, guess I wasn't specific haha
    HAHA yeah thats why I asked please be specific... but to be honest even when you first said that I thought "ALL OF THEM YOU FOOL CHECK THEM ALLL!!!!"

    Easy mistakes are the best ones though, and I learned a good amount by making this one.

    I have a way way better understanding of the electrical system in this car. Also got some practice physically testing relays by applying power to the switched circuit and verifying continuity between the other poles etc. Im better at reading diagrams and understand CAN bus more.

    AND YOU CAN BET YOUR ASS NEXT TIME IM GONNA CHECK GROUND (ALLLLLLL OF THEM!)

    One thing that I always think of in these situations and has proven to work well is... go back to the last place you messed with things at... chances are high its in that area and not something new that just went bad in another area randomly for no reason. I just got hung up on some easy $#@!... but all that said I AM SOOOO GLAD IT WASNT CAN BUS RELATED!!!

    Now my issues are just the normal first start power steering leaks, vanos exhaust mechanical code etc.

    Also I went to do a new JB4 BEF and remembered that last time a dealership programmed keys they locked this damn DME. I am getting an RSA Defeat situation where I cant erase the data to flash over it with MHD.

    Soooo right now I am going to focus on getting her buttoned up and do some research on how to get the MSD81 I have working.

    If anyone can shed specifics on how to program this MSD81 to the current CAS module and key for the car that would be awesome. I have ISTA-P and played with it for a while last night before I passed out. Looks like I can do it... just didnt want to try right now.

    I also have the matching CAS module that came with the MSD81... and its all from an 07 335i auto, sedan almost identical to my car... only difference is it had Comfort Access and mine does not. I know theres a way I can just swap the CAS and MSD81 in, then disable Comfort Access and program my key(s) to it.

    Thats probably for another thread though in the coding section, backed up by a lot of reading.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    143
    Rep Points
    165.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Ya there are some programmers around here that can help you, I'm not familiar with all of that, I stick to the mechanical side of things for the most part. I shoulda been more specific but I was reffering to all the grounds lol. I'm glad you figured it out. Who built your engine? Give me details Click here to enlarge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    138,364
    Rep Points
    41,380.8
    Mentioned
    2433 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    414


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by CptGudentite Click here to enlarge
    WE HAVE IGNITION! and im a fool... but I figured it out.

    Damn ground on the strut tower passenger side was hidden between the heat shield and strut tower... under the relocated inlet pipe. Figured it was something stupid and simple right in front of my face but I never saw it.

    I setup INPA, started followed the service plan... every step, checking the circuit line... each connector, fuse, relay... and then finally grounds... soon as I clicked the picture showing that ground it clicked in my head.

    So boys and girls dont be like me... remember those pesky grounds that are hiding from you.


    Thanks to everyone who helped and I hope we all got a good laugh out of this.

    Ill update yall on how the new motors does!
    Glad you figured it out and updated us.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •