Close

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    135
    Rep Points
    162.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No

    170+ minutes to do a full write of the ECU?!

    As title says, 170 minutes to write a 2mb file? what on earth...
    FBO + Meth + VTT S2B2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    180
    Rep Points
    578.2
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135Hoser Click here to enlarge
    As title says, 170 minutes to write a 2mb file? what on earth...
    Just stop it now, there is a communication error. What kind of laptop are you using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    135
    Rep Points
    162.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Macbook pro + parallels.

    I am getting the occasional red flash on my BT cable, I assume that means it's writing.
    FBO + Meth + VTT S2B2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    180
    Rep Points
    578.2
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135Hoser Click here to enlarge
    Macbook pro + parallels.

    I am getting the occasional red flash on my BT cable, I assume that means it's writing.
    Yeah, I had a lot of issues using my Macbook Pro and Parallels, simply put. It does NOT work. Go buy a cheap laptop from Walmart that runs windows natively. That is your only solution at this point or use an older windows laptop laying around.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    135
    Rep Points
    162.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I stopped and started it, seems to be saying ~20 minutes left, and the red light is flashing very quickly.
    FBO + Meth + VTT S2B2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    180
    Rep Points
    578.2
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135Hoser Click here to enlarge
    I stopped and started it, seems to be saying ~20 minutes left, and the red light is flashing very quickly.
    Well I hope it works for you, but I had no luck with it. Let me know in 20 mins if it works out for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,336
    Rep Points
    2,501.8
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Let me guess. 2007? How long did the read take? Please tell me you did one before trying to flash a 2007 with a computer you're not absolutely sure works with 2007 cars :-(

    If the read took much longer than 70 minutes, you're gonna have a bad time.

    Find an AMD computer or a newer Intel computer with the Haswell 4th gen processors. Mac's seem just as hit and miss as the older Intel pc's. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    135
    Rep Points
    162.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by V8Bait Click here to enlarge
    Let me guess. 2007? How long did the read take? Please tell me you did one before trying to flash a 2007 with a computer you're not absolutely sure works with 2007 cars :-(

    If the read took much longer than 70 minutes, you're gonna have a bad time.

    Find an AMD computer or a newer Intel computer with the Haswell 4th gen processors. Mac's seem just as hit and miss as the older Intel pc's. Good luck.

    Cars an 09.

    No way to read it as it has(had) a Dinan flash on it already.

    2nd attempt worked perfectly. Gonna update my other thread with a log. hopefully my trims look better.
    FBO + Meth + VTT S2B2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,336
    Rep Points
    2,501.8
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135Hoser Click here to enlarge
    Cars an 09.

    No way to read it as it has(had) a Dinan flash on it already.

    2nd attempt worked perfectly. Gonna update my other thread with a log. hopefully my trims look better.
    I think this is one of the few threads ever started for a dcan car flash issue. Glad it's working now.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    575
    Rep Points
    548.1
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Should take around 15-16 minutes MAX, don't stop it while it's writing, might get in trouble and have to flash it via boot mode (haven't read previous posts).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    486
    Rep Points
    587.6
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    A Mac IS an Intel PC (Hardware wise). Your best bet is to set up a "Boot Camp" partition and install Windows natively on it and run a dual-boot setup. Also keep it plugged in to power, even if you need to run an extension chord, just in case it tries any power-saving trickery. Buying a whole separate laptop is in no way necessary.

    I would not risk flashing from a virtual machine (eg. Parallels)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    135
    Rep Points
    162.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Again, flashed just fine on the second attempt.
    FBO + Meth + VTT S2B2

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,762
    Rep Points
    31,552.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by aflatau Click here to enlarge
    Yeah, I had a lot of issues using my Macbook Pro and Parallels, simply put. It does NOT work. Go buy a cheap laptop from Walmart that runs windows natively. That is your only solution at this point or use an older windows laptop laying around.
    All these compatibility issues with OS's and laptops are driving me insane. I don't know how people who do software for a living don't rip their hair out.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,762
    Rep Points
    31,552.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135Hoser Click here to enlarge
    Again, flashed just fine on the second attempt.
    Well hurray then! Party down.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •