Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No

    INPA connection problems with COBB flash

    I also cannot connect the car with DIS and NCSExpert. This seems to coincide with the installation of the Cobb AP flash. Just interested to find out whether others here with the Cobb flash still are able to use INPA, etc. or whether the flash needs to be uninstalled first.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,937
    Rep Points
    2,873.1
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    Yes Reputation No
    If you are trying to read part of the ECU file you may get errors, not sure if Cobb blocks the ability to read the bin file, but it wouldn't surprise me.

    What exactly are you trying to do in INPA? Diagnostics and system tests should work fine.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    412
    Rep Points
    518.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    I have had no issues using INPA & NCS while Cobb flashed. Also flashed Alpina TCU update using Winkfp with Cobb on there.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    45
    Rep Points
    67.5
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    According to "Frequently Asked Questions about EDIABAS,INPA and the Tool Set"

    3.1 EDIABAS error 100: SYS-0010: INITIALIZATION ERROR
    Reason: This message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between
    multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
    Solution: Connect the controller

    so I dont think its related to COBB flash since DIS, NCS Expert and INPA not working then must be something wrong with cable or software setting just double check your computer setting again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    101
    Rep Points
    156.1
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    I get this when ignition is off since the security update flash from bmw.

    Are you sure let is in and ignition turned on?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lulz_m3 Click here to enlarge
    If you are trying to read part of the ECU file you may get errors, not sure if Cobb blocks the ability to read the bin file, but it wouldn't surprise me.

    What exactly are you trying to do in INPA? Diagnostics and system tests should work fine.
    Just trying to do diagnostics.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by crypticc Click here to enlarge
    I get this when ignition is off since the security update flash from bmw.

    Are you sure let is in and ignition turned on?
    Key is in ignition and Start/Stop pushed once, no engine running.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,937
    Rep Points
    2,873.1
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by baveagle Click here to enlarge
    Just trying to do diagnostics.
    Looks like your error is related to communications with the controller - i'm assuming can controller...

    "EDIABAS error 100: SYS-0010: INITIALIZATION ERROR
    Reason: This message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between
    multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
    Solution: Connect the controller."
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    577
    Rep Points
    548.1
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    What ECU do you have? I got the MSD81 on my alpina b3s biturbo - CAN'T connect.. Tried many times Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    412
    Rep Points
    518.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    OP, have you used this cable before to code or do diagnostics on this car (prior to Cobb) without issues?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lfelunden Click here to enlarge
    What ECU do you have? I got the MSD81 on my alpina b3s biturbo - CAN'T connect.. Tried many times Click here to enlarge
    I have the MSD80 and was able to connect before.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajsalida Click here to enlarge
    OP, have you used this cable before to code or do diagnostics on this car (prior to Cobb) without issues?
    This cable worked before without problem. I also bought another cable which gave the same result = no connection.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lulz_m3 Click here to enlarge
    Looks like your error is related to communications with the controller - i'm assuming can controller...

    "EDIABAS error 100: SYS-0010: INITIALIZATION ERROR
    Reason: This message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between
    multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
    Solution: Connect the controller."
    I came across this explanation before, but don't know what to make of it.
    Later yesterday I was able to connect to ISTA-D with this cable via ICOM emulator and all CUs were identified correctly.
    After that session I tried INPA again and now got error #28 .

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Could the Integration Level have anything to do with it?
    At some time in 2011 the car got a software update by the dealer, under warranty, because of injector problems. At that time the I-level (factory) was E060-07-09-521 and the I-level (actual) read E060-11-03-501.
    Beginning of January the car required a new TCU and was in the shop for close to two weeks because of all kinds of problems getting the TCU working and lots of programming as per SA. Now the actual I-level is the same as the factory one E060-07-09-521.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    45
    Rep Points
    67.5
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Error 28: IFH 0018- INITIALIZATION ERROR.
    Reason: Ediabas is attempting to access port COM1. However, the port doesn't exist, or it
    has been taken by another programme (e.g. HotSync from Palm, infrared).
    Solution: Install a COM1 interface or free it.

    since the cable works with ISTA-D then it must be Ediabas setting. try connect the cable to computer and check which port it taking as most of the times the windows change the port number if you changed the USB slot.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    19
    Rep Points
    20.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Oilpase:

    Thanks. Playing around with the two cables did get the COM ports mixed up. After changing the original cable back to COM1 I am back to Error #100 . Sometimes INPA even starts up with both dots in black, whether the ignition is on or not.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,937
    Rep Points
    2,873.1
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by baveagle Click here to enlarge
    Oilpase:

    Thanks. Playing around with the two cables did get the COM ports mixed up. After changing the original cable back to COM1 I am back to Error #100 . Sometimes INPA even starts up with both dots in black, whether the ignition is on or not.
    I've heard some people have issues with the sequence unto which they connect to the car. Maybe try launching the software after the ignition is on and cable is plugged in?
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •