Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 89
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    674
    Rep Points
    986.1
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    8 out of 8 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    My Transmission tear down. (Pictures inside)

    So most of you know that my transmission started slipping when going from 2 to 3rd gear and 4 to 5th gear... Long story short after doing a burn out the car completely shut off on me and my engine wouldn't crank. We pulled the engine thinking the engine was shot, but when pulling the transmission off the engine block I noticed the engine cranked when the transmission itself was disconnected from the motor. So I decided to tear apart the transmission myself.

    *I am not a mechanic and this is my second car I have ever pulled a engine out of. I have never taken apart a transmission ever in my life so this is new to me. LOL

    Yeah I know I got a mess!


    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

    Last edited by Linracing; 10-30-2013 at 01:59 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,528
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    nice tear down. any ideas what is the issue?
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,058
    Rep Points
    1,149.6
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Save for some electrical/solenoid failure, I'm betting it's in the clutch packs. If you're unfamilliar with transmissions, suggest giving it to an experienced trans shop for accurate diagnosis and community information.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    325
    Rep Points
    467.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    Wow. balls man. Good luck.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,528
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    ah ok just saw the video. torque converter shot probably. you could send it to level 10 , get also a refurbishing kit for clutches , solenoids etc.
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    626
    Rep Points
    1,088.2
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Yes Reputation No
    Looks like the oil pump took a dump.
    Click here to enlarge
    Instagram: Sammy0559
    VTX3's Click here to enlarge
    Got one more tow with AAA lets make it count Click here to enlarge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,297
    Rep Points
    1,436.1
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    15


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    wow awesome, never seen inside an auto trans before

    reaffirms my 'nope' attitude towards trans work though Click here to enlarge

    look forward to further updates Click here to enlarge
    boop

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,058
    Rep Points
    1,149.6
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    nvm cant see vid at work.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,281
    Rep Points
    1,527.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    You should try to get the clutch packs apart and have a look at them.

    I just dug up a table which shows the clutches engaged for each gear, and to shift from 2->3 and 4->5, the B clutch needs to engage. It's in the reference documents thread now. I bet this is where your problems started. It's also possible you have clutch packs which fused together during your burnout as they were slipping. This could have caused the transmission to lock.

    If you have the time it would be interesting to know exactly what went wrong.

    I think what you have removed is the A, B, and E clutches. The C and D clutches still look to be in the transmission.
    Eppur si muove.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,930
    Rep Points
    921.6
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by enrita Click here to enlarge
    ah ok just saw the video. torque converter shot probably. you could send it to level 10 , get also a refurbishing kit for clutches , solenoids etc.
    Speaking of...I don't see why an upgraded torque converter, clutch pack, additional trans cooler, and alpina flash wouldn't add a significant amount of torque tolerance. clutch packs seem to be a common failure, and if the Level 10 general consensus seems to be not any better, why not just have a custom set of really strong clutch packs made?
    2009 335i coupe back to stock...for now

    Click here to enlarge

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,281
    Rep Points
    1,527.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by mjmarovi Click here to enlarge
    Speaking of...I don't see why an upgraded torque converter, clutch pack, additional trans cooler, and alpina flash wouldn't add a significant amount of torque tolerance. clutch packs seem to be a common failure, and if the Level 10 general consensus seems to be not any better, why not just have a custom set of really strong clutch packs made?
    The problem is the mechatronics algorithms adjust the clutch pressure to give consistent shift feel over the life of the vehicle. This is a feature to ensure the vehicle shifts the same over it's lifetime, but is a determent to modifying the transmission for higher torque.

    If you put clutch packs with higher coefficients of friction in, the mechatronics will just lower the clutch pressure to keep the force transferred by the clutch packs constant (F = uN). In the old days spring tension was used to set the clutch pressure mechanically. This is why shimming a spring will increase the clutch pressure. Now the EDS solenoid do that electronically. This is why Level 10 and every other aftermarket transmission shop (IPT, 517) has failed. Even if you shim the pressure regulator springs, the mechatronics adjusts the EDS solenoids to maintain the shift feel it was programmed to maintain. What this modern transmission needs is a software engineer, not a transmission technician.

    The mechatronics is very capable, the software just needs to be adjusted. Unfortunately this is no trivial task.
    Eppur si muove.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,880
    Rep Points
    31,857.7
    Mentioned
    2092 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    So what are you replacing it with?

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    674
    Rep Points
    986.1
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Sorry in my thread i put I AM a mechanic, NO I AM NOT that is a typo lol meant i am NOT a mechanic. Sticky can u edit that for me it will not let me...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    674
    Rep Points
    986.1
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by enrita Click here to enlarge
    nice tear down. any ideas what is the issue?
    I have no clue yet.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    674
    Rep Points
    986.1
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sammy_0559 Click here to enlarge
    Looks like the oil pump took a dump.
    That is what i am thinking as well.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,880
    Rep Points
    31,857.7
    Mentioned
    2092 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Linracing Click here to enlarge
    Sorry in my thread i put I AM a mechanic, NO I AM NOT that is a typo lol meant i am NOT a mechanic. Sticky can u edit that for me it will not let me...
    Fine.

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    674
    Rep Points
    986.1
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    You should try to get the clutch packs apart and have a look at them.

    I just dug up a table which shows the clutches engaged for each gear, and to shift from 2->3 and 4->5, the B clutch needs to engage. It's in the reference documents thread now. I bet this is where your problems started. It's also possible you have clutch packs which fused together during your burnout as they were slipping. This could have caused the transmission to lock.

    If you have the time it would be interesting to know exactly what went wrong.

    I think what you have removed is the A, B, and E clutches. The C and D clutches still look to be in the transmission.
    Thanks for information, i will take those apart today and see what happened.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    674
    Rep Points
    986.1
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    So what are you replacing it with?
    I was about to order a used automatic off ebay last night when i decided to take this thing apart. So if i do replace it, it will be with a used auto for the moment.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    626
    Rep Points
    1,088.2
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Linracing Click here to enlarge
    I was about to order a used automatic off ebay last night when i decided to take this thing apart. So if i do replace it, it will be with a used auto for the moment.
    6MT FTW!
    Click here to enlarge
    Instagram: Sammy0559
    VTX3's Click here to enlarge
    Got one more tow with AAA lets make it count Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    499
    Rep Points
    517.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    Look at LKQ. When I bought one,while mine was being built, I found one with 10k for a little over a grand. Ebay ones were more expensive and higher mileage. Even though I have all the level10 upgrades @ajm8127 is right. It will eventually fail.Why is it no one can program these things? I'm no computer wiz but there are plenty here who are. I'm just curious what the hurdle is that no one can get past.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Encino,CA
    Posts
    8,013
    Rep Points
    5,704.1
    Mentioned
    175 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    58


    Yes Reputation No
    @Linracing. I'm going to come up and help you LOL! That looks so badass bro.
    Burger Motorsports
    Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, S55s, N63s, and S63s!

    It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please click here for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    3,865
    Rep Points
    2,450.1
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Terry mentioned something about this. I think it has to do with decifering what the crypto is and the checksum. If I'm not mistaken the key to the DME had to be purchased from someone in order to decifer the DME logic and flash it. The same would have to be done with the trans i believe. It's been mentioned before. I think it's alot harder than what it seems.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jzeee037 Click here to enlarge
    Look at LKQ. When I bought one,while mine was being built, I found one with 10k for a little over a grand. Ebay ones were more expensive and higher mileage. Even though I have all the level10 upgrades @ajm8127 is right. It will eventually fail.Why is it no one can program these things? I'm no computer wiz but there are plenty here who are. I'm just curious what the hurdle is that no one can get past.
    2011 335is DCT, JB4 + MHD BEF, stage 2 LPFP, e50 + 50/50 meth, FBO, MT ET Streets when needed


  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    499
    Rep Points
    517.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bigdnno98 Click here to enlarge
    Terry mentioned something about this. I think it has to do with decifering what the crypto is and the checksum. If I'm not mistaken the key to the DME had to be purchased from someone in order to decifer the DME logic and flash it. The same would have to be done with the trans i believe. It's been mentioned before. I think it's alot harder than what it seems.
    Yeah it must be something like that. Pat @Level 10 told me someone from Cobb was working on it but that's been over 8mnths ago. When I did the upgrade I was hoping someone would have it figured out by now. Wish I knew anything about it where I could do it myself but I had trouble getting my computer right for the transflash. Hard to believe we can do the alpina flash but can't do anything else with it. I just hope someone figures it out before my trans. starts having issues. The way I drive it won't be long but everything seems fine with it for now.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    3,865
    Rep Points
    2,450.1
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    we can only do the Alpina flash because I'm sure Alpina purchases the code from BMW in order to flash the tranny the way they want it. someone that had an alpina shared the file that was already programmed into the DME/TCU. that's the only reason we have that. someone needs to do what Alpina has done. again, easier said than done.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jzeee037 Click here to enlarge
    Yeah it must be something like that. Pat @Level 10 told me someone from Cobb was working on it but that's been over 8mnths ago. When I did the upgrade I was hoping someone would have it figured out by now. Wish I knew anything about it where I could do it myself but I had trouble getting my computer right for the transflash. Hard to believe we can do the alpina flash but can't do anything else with it. I just hope someone figures it out before my trans. starts having issues. The way I drive it won't be long but everything seems fine with it for now.
    2011 335is DCT, JB4 + MHD BEF, stage 2 LPFP, e50 + 50/50 meth, FBO, MT ET Streets when needed


  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    1,528
    Rep Points
    1,177.6
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Will never happen. Alpina is the closest we can get.
    07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD BMS E85 - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
    Click here to enlarge

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •