Close

Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    137
    Rep Points
    124.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    E60 535I LPFP upgrade help

    Hi,

    I initially took out my LPFP to do an inline upgrade.. well that failed as the E60 is a bit different when it comes to the low pressure fuel pump. I decided on going with AEM 320 because a member on n54tech @skysurfer posted a while ago that he had successfully done it and it had been running perfectly. With the help of some pictures provided by the person who did it for skysurfer, I was able to get through roughly 85% of the process. I am however stuck at the most import part, Where does the AEM get power from. I have a few pictures of skysurfer's completed setup but it's at a weird angle and I am unable to figure it out.
    Can anyone assist? My car has been sitting now for over 2 weeks(although parts were part of the reason)

    Here is skysurfer's completed set-up for reference.
    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,209
    Rep Points
    1,449.2
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    You're going to need to tap the wires going to the stock lpfp

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,254
    Rep Points
    1,901.8
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    20


    Yes Reputation No
    Was gonna say, you're gonna use the only power source that's back there so get ready to modify the OEM LPFP power cord. The whole system works off of voltage, so if you're not comfortable cutting/splicing wires, I'd take it somewhere that can do the job right for you so you don't have any issues.
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    137
    Rep Points
    124.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I figured it out guys, I think I was blind before because it's really simple. Buttoning things up after work and will post some pictures if everything goes well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    43.3
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Keep us posted and also on n54tech

    I'm glad you figured it out and that I could help, at least with my pics

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    18
    Rep Points
    17.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Keep us posted...I assume it can be any in tank pump...not just the aem one...I still have my hopes for the inline since I had already purchased just didnt get around to looking at the pump area yet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Rep Points
    3.3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    can someone hit me up on this post? i wanna know how the power connection was done.

    thanx

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,676
    Rep Points
    2,888.7
    Mentioned
    77 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by gabeamin Click here to enlarge
    can someone hit me up on this post? i wanna know how the power connection was done.

    thanx
    You splice/crimp to the stock LPFP wiring. As noted it’s all based off voltage. A cleaner way of doing it would be to pull the stock wires from their harness in the top hat, then solder your inline wires there and plug everything back in. Makes for cleaner work, though just splicing them is obviously less time consuming. Credit goes to Wedge for that idea, that’s how my FFTEC pump is wired.
    E88 N54 w stuff
    F30 335 X-Drive EBII....PPK otherwise Stock
    Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    29
    Rep Points
    75.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by continue5 Click here to enlarge
    I figured it out guys, I think I was blind before because it's really simple. Buttoning things up after work and will post some pictures if everything goes well.
    I was wondering how the pump held up. I'm looking to do this upgraded in my 535i but with the newer AEM 320e pump since I want to start running a E50-60 fueling mix. Let me know. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    137
    Rep Points
    124.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Booyaazaa Click here to enlarge
    I was wondering how the pump held up. I'm looking to do this upgraded in my 535i but with the newer AEM 320e pump since I want to start running a E50-60 fueling mix. Let me know. Thanks.
    The pump should be able to handle E60 fine and has not been an issue since I've installed it. Although I have been running nothing but 93 for this winter as the HPFP still does not like high ethanol content if its anywhere close to freezing. Chicago has been below freezing for the entire winter I would say lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Norcal
    Posts
    29
    Rep Points
    75.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by continue5 Click here to enlarge
    The pump should be able to handle E60 fine and has not been an issue since I've installed it. Although I have been running nothing but 93 for this winter as the HPFP still does not like high ethanol content if its anywhere close to freezing. Chicago has been below freezing for the entire winter I would say lol
    Damn that's cold. Well I'm probably going to get the new AEM 50-1205 pump installed in the next couple of weeks and change up to a E50 map. Should get me a nice bump of power now that I just got my Dr Euro ***less DP's installed.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Rep Points
    3.3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I had the AEM 320 installed last week. Not a bad mod and I live in south GA so E85 is close by. All seems well so far. W/ JB4 8 gallons of E86 should be just fine. My car is a beast with the E85 mix.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    12.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Hey. I need your help. I bought aem fuel pump for my 535i. How can I install it correctly? The car costs 2 weeks. You are my only hope)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    137
    Rep Points
    124.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    PM me, I will do my best to help you out but it's not straight forward and requires a lot of hacking up of your stock bucket. I recommend you buy a spare while you get it figured out.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-7170856-...JYuJSE&vxp=mtr

    Pretty good price. ^

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    123,953
    Rep Points
    34,873.4
    Mentioned
    2229 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    349


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by gochaevich Click here to enlarge
    Hey. I need your help. I bought aem fuel pump for my 535i. How can I install it correctly? The car costs 2 weeks. You are my only hope)
    Did you figure out how to install it @gochaevich?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    12.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    No

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    123,953
    Rep Points
    34,873.4
    Mentioned
    2229 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    349


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by gochaevich Click here to enlarge
    No
    Well that's not good, let's get you some help.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Rep Points
    16.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Help me Obi Wan Kanobi, you're my only hope. LOL

    Where are you stuck at? Or do you not even know how to start?

    Vernon

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    12.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    First of all, I am interested in why it is necessary to change the main fuel line?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Rep Points
    16.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    The new fuel pump has the ability to supply a larger volume of fuel at the same pressure as before with the factory pump. This is necessary to support power levels above which the factory fuel pump can achieve. In order to get that larger volume of fuel up to the engine at the same system pressure a larger diameter fuel line is required. This is much easier and efficient than trying to increase the pressure high enough to supply the same volume with the smaller stock line. At some point the pump can't build that much pressure and would have to work much harder if it could. This would consume more electricity and produce more heat in the fuel. The pressure would then have to be reduced to what the engine can work with, sending a lot more back to the tank unused most of the time. Also at some point the fuel system would be at a pressure that is above it's practical limits, short or long term. So by just increasing the size of the line, you can maintain higher volume without over taxing the pressure side of the equation.

    Basically you will change the line to a bigger one to match the flow rate of the new pump.

    Understand?

    Vernon

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    12.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    What should be the diameter of the fuel line?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Rep Points
    16.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    What ever larger size is easy to obtain in a kit so you don't have to try to build it yourself. Try the N54 vendor named Fuel-It!

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    123,953
    Rep Points
    34,873.4
    Mentioned
    2229 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    349


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by gochaevich Click here to enlarge
    What should be the diameter of the fuel line?
    @Dave@Fuel-It!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    12.6
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I installed the pump AEM. The car started, but there was such a strange sound under the gasoline tank<span lang="en">

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •