Close

Thread: Idrive gauges?

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Idrive gauges?

I have no experience with writting codes and all that, but it would be nice to be able to select and view gauges on the idrive screen. There's already a plug and play mod to get video to display on the idrive screen so it would seem that all we need is a module to take the info from the obd port and transfer it to video out. It would be awesome to be able to display 4-6 user selectable gauges much like these handheld units that are out on the market.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    2066 Post(s)

Someone would have to create a module for this.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

I believe you would need something such as TVandNav2Go (or you might be able to code it), so you could display it on the iDrive while driving.
    You would also need something for output, such as a computer running OBD-II monitoring software to display the information. Even then, you could not modify any inputs through iDrive and the setup is messy. So there is no ideal setup unless someone much smarter than I can make a module.
    If someone invented this I'm sure they would make a lot of money Click here to enlarge.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    2066 Post(s)

This is honestly a really cool idea and I would like to make it happen. Maybe a side project.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Looks like someone tried and gave up. It's still a bit over my head.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=AU0ZrNTVgqU&feature=plcp

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712884

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    2066 Post(s)

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)