The 24 Hours of Le Mans has basically belonged to Audi. They flat out own this race winning year after year. The R18 E-Tron Quattro won last year in its first year of competition and Audi will be fielding an all E-Tron LMP-1 lineup for the 2013 24 Hours of Le Mans with three cars. The non-hybrid R18 Ultra's fielded last year will not be used. It is likely Audi will repeat for their 12th 24 Hours of Le Mans overall victory as they plan to make tweaks the R18 E-Tron increasing energy storage which would put them only four behind Porsche for most victories all time.

Speaking of Porsche, they will enter this race going for the overall title with an LMP1 effort and protect their overall Le Mans titles lead starting in 2014. It seems the only challenger to Audi will be from the VW Group which essentially will be racing against itself now that Porsche is owned by Volkswagen.

Next year's race with Audi basically being unopposed likely will not be very competitive at least for the overall title.

Click here to enlarge